Executive Director

Elisa Brewer-Singh (She/Her)


Elisa Brewer-Singh is the Executive Director for the Waterloo Region Suicide Prevention Council.  She brings her passion for suicide prevention and a Master’s degree in Spiritual Care and Counselling from Wilfrid Laurier University which she uses to support the dialogue around suicide, advocate for better access to services and supports, and journey alongside individuals bereaved by suicide.

Elisa’s work includes a Regional, Provincial, and National focus on providing hope, help, and healing for those who have been touched by suicide. Her desire is to see communities where everyone is engaged in the work of suicide prevention, intervention and postvention (hope, help and healing).

Program Coordinators

Karyn Kipper-Day (She/Her)

Karyn is a Program Coordinator for the Waterloo Region Suicide Prevention Council. She has a Master of Public Policy and Administration from Carleton University. As a teen, she volunteered with mental health organizations throughout Kitchener-Waterloo, sharing information and her experiences to raise awareness, challenge stigma, and promote hope.

Karyn is passionate about mental health and wellness, suicide prevention, and inclusive community-building. She hopes to help build a safer, more supportive, and equitable community for everyone.



Emma Chapelle (She/Her)

Emma is a Program Coordinator for the Waterloo Region Suicide Prevention Council. She has a Master of Teaching degree from the University of Toronto. As an Ontario Certified Teacher, Emma’s passion for teaching and learning extends beyond the conventional classroom setting.

Emma is passionate about mental health advocacy and strives to contribute meaningfully to initiatives that raise awareness, reduce stigma, and create a more compassionate and connected community for all.



Development Assistant

Marta Fukasawa (She/Her)

Marta Fukasawa is the Development Assistant for the Waterloo Suicide Prevention Council. She has a degree in Communications from PUC-Rio in Brazil and has experience with event production and fundraising.

Since coming to Canada 13 years ago, Marta has volunteered and worked in community groups and local organizations like The Early Years and Lutherwood. She is very grateful for her life in Kitchener-Waterloo and wants to give back and help her supportive and welcoming community.


Waterloo Region Suicide Prevention Council Board Members

Chair – Melissa Strachan-Baylis

Vice Chair – Megan Moore

Secretary – Jessica Deming

Treasurer – Ed Hofstede

Board Member – Allan Strong

Board Member – Adrienne Luft

Board Member – Kathy Payette

Board Member – Nancy Coutts

Along with our Board, the WRSPC is also supported by a community of stakeholders who inform, guide, and support our work, and a Previous Executive Advisory Council (PEAC) who we call upon for advice and guidance as needed.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt